Henderbell: The Shadow of Saint Nicholas by J.D. Netto

“Maybe this was the reason why I always felt like an outsider growing up. I never belonged in the ordinary. I was born to live amidst magic.” Enzo Griffin

Synopsis

Enzo and Ava Griffin never expected to face their worst nightmare on Christmas eve. Though they always dreamed of magic, they never thought of its actual existence, and the consequence it carries. During a violent snow storm, they’re visited by foul creatures called Shadow Spirits. The eerie beings kidnap both of their grandparents, vanishing into a portal found on the bark of a tree.

After the frightening incident, Enzo and Ava discover Henderbell, a world full of magic, wonder, and secrets. But an impending doom is revealed to them. The king and queen of Henderbell are missing, and their absence could trigger the destruction of this new-found world and the human realm. On the quest to find both Henderbellian rulers, Enzo and Ava learn of a curse placed upon their own bloodline. But other ancient enemies have risen from their graves, seeking revenge for a past unknown to them.

Enzo and Ava find friendship, courage, and love as they face unimaginable darkness in the quest to redeem the world they belong and the one they live in.

Can you discover the curse hidden in the shadows?

Full of magic, mystery, and adventure, Henderbell: The Shadow of Saint Nicholas is the perfect read for fans of Narnia and The Golden Compass.

Listen to the music composed by Efraim Alencar, Born Amidst Magic, a piece inspired by the novel, Henderbell:

More Info:


Review

Rating = 🖤🖤🖤🖤 | 4/5

I thoroughly enjoyed this alternate take on St Nicholas. J.D. Netto has created a magical new world that you’ll want to visit again and again. The story is a dark atmospheric journey for 2 siblings as they learn the truth of their family history and discover they’ve inherited a future full of magic and possibility. The cliffhanger left me wishing the next book was immediately available. Alas, no such luck… I am now trying to wait patiently for the next installment 🤣

The only thing I was slightly disappointed about was that I expected Enzo’s character growth arc to be a bit more than it was. I was left feeling like he was still a bit too self-absorbed, bitter and childish. Then again, he went through a lot in a very short time, with more yet to come. Plenty of time and experience left to move through that arc in the next book.

Happy to have found a new author to add to my #tbr list. I now want to move on to read his Whispers of the Fallen series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: